Cheesy thoughts

Over the years I have given up red wine (sad face) and caffeinated coffee (even sadder face) in the interest of feeling a little less “inflamed”. I’m stubbornly ignoring the gluten thing. I don’t think I can do it.  I know people who really do have to and it looks to me like a total pain in the arse.

Recently I’ve internet-floated past many a sparkly-white health blog advocating a plant-based, gluten and dairy-free diet, and wondered whether I should give what they are doing a go. They all look so healthy and weirdly shiny. But instead of going the whole hog I randomly pluck out a few bits that I like the look of and then promptly apply a “break” rule as soon as I see a cafe that sells good coffee (decaf of course) and croissants.

But after nearly 4 months of on-and-off migraines and sinusitis, 4 rounds of antibiotics with not much improvement, I have decided to give the non-dairy thing a go.

So here I am. Day 2 of no dairy. I must admit that the sinusitis is noticeably less awful. However, hunger and chocolate/cheese cravings are at an all time high. I’ve cut down on cheese and chocolate previously, but not completely. I did not realise how much I rely on dairy – mainly cheese – for so much of what I eat. As a non-meat eater it’s often the easy option. I definitely eat it too much. So I’m on a mission to find lots of tasty dairy free meals. I know there are lots of them. I’ve cooked loads of them. I just got lazy recently.

So for now I must stop thinking and writing about cheese.

I really want some cheese.

Or some chocolate.

Or preferably both.

 

 

 

 

6 comments

  1. Jess Barry · April 13, 2016

    Hi Lynne – I really enjoyed this post! I’ve been (and still am) here, so I feel your pain

    Things I’ve found to replace dairy you might find helpful/tasty too:
    • Ghee – all the buttery goodness, with no milk solids. Downside is its artery clogging stuff but it tastes like heaven so….meh?
    • Divine / Green and Blacks dark chocolate – has high cocoa butter content so is really creamy. G&Bs Maya Gold and Divine Raspberry-something-or-other are particular faves of mine
    • Coconut milk – prefer to almond milk as its less bitter

    Word of warning – DO NOT go anywhere near dairy free cheese – it’s the worst. I have cheese as my Christmas treat and it’s worth the wait.

    Good luck with the change – it’s very tough but for me it makes the world of difference.

    Like

    • Lynne Jarrett · April 15, 2016

      thanks Jess. Lovely of you to get in touch. I have indeed experienced vegan cheese and you’re right it’s absolutely horrible!! Thanks for your words of encouragement and the tips on stuff that’s actually nice. It’s amazing to hear from so many people that have made the change and benefited from it x

      Like

  2. Bea · April 13, 2016

    If I can do it, you definitely can 🙂 Give it a month and the sight of dairy will disgust you. Every time I break and eat chocolate, I feel sick after. Oh and get prepared to embrace the Coconut, it’s going to become your staple! Good luck! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lynne Jarrett · April 15, 2016

      thanks Bea – I must admit it already smells a bit “cheesy”!!! I’m def going for it. The time has come to do everything I can!! x

      Liked by 1 person

  3. mariudances · April 13, 2016

    Sugo di nocie…Raw walnut sauce from Genova…very special, will give you my recipe if you want to try it xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

