Big is not always better

This blog has nothing to do with MS.

It has to do with my intentionally simple and relaxing Christmas after what has been a difficult year for many, including myself.

There’s a growing trend towards simplifying life, spending less and hugging (or hygge-ing) more.

And I like it. I like it a lot. It’s what I was brought up on. Lots of hanging out, walks in the country and time snuggling up with my family.

We are rarely organised enough to plan lots of “Christmas activities” and sometimes Facebook makes me feel a bit lazy and like I ought to plan more “stuff”.

But when both of my girls told me they were having the “best Christmas EVER” this morning, I realised that this is all they need. Time to chill out, play, draw, argue, jump off high stuff, collect sticks and bake questionable goodies.

Since breaking up from school, my very lovely (and lively) children and I have done the following “activities”:

1. Explored the woods collecting sticks and searching for bugs (yuck) under logs. I kept my yucks silent and invisible in front of the girls.

2. Had long, splashy, leisurely “deepest ever” baths  in the middle of the day.

3. Made gingerbread and rolled and shaped the life out of it until it was completely inedible.

4. Played “jumping onto this squishy bunchy pile of stuff” (see picture above).

5. Made way too many paper chains for our house.

6. Walked around our neighbourhood admiring Christmas lights and deciding that next year we need to invest in a family of light up reindeer.

7. Done French plaits to make our hair wavy.

8. Imaginary games with teddies and tea sets. These games are my personal favourite.

9. Spent two nights and two days totally exhausting their grandparents with games, playgrounds and disturbed nights.

And we’re only half way through the holidays.

What a relief to be out of the daily routine.

I have to agree with my clever babies. This truly is the best time ever.

I really hope you are having your version of the best Christmas ever.

Happy, happy Christmas,

Love, Lynne x

 

One comment

  1. Kathy O'Brien · December 24

    Lifts the spirit to hear of such a perfect Christmas.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

