My version of fast food – by Juliet Evans of My Family Home

One of the biggest issues of our busy lives is finding the time and energy to eat healthily. Eating nutritious food makes me feel so much better, giving me more energy and helping me feel more positive and happy. I’m sure I am not the only one to feel this way. So as a busy mum and someone who suffers from regular fatigue and general tiredness by dinner preparation time, I am always happy to receive lovely and easy recipes like the following from Juliet of My Family Home. If you would like to read more of Juliet’s recipes and various aspects of family life, why not follow her blog.

Tofu and Veggie stir Fry with Noodles

This has to be one of the easiest and quickest dishes to get on the table. My version of fast food; delicious, nutritious and one of my kids favourite meals. It’s win, win.

I prepare the veg first. Basically I don’t like too much variety in this dish and it really doesn’t need it. Keep it simple and the kids are far more likely to eat it!


Currently my fussy little wotsits love red peppers and broccoli but you can add any veg that you fancy; celery, baby corn, pak choi, carrot, the list goes on ..

I slice some broccoli florets and cut the pepper into fingers. I then whizz up in my processor some spring onion, root ginger and garlic and slice the tofu into chunks. I use this one, available from Waitrose or most health shops, it’s a really tasty firm tofu and works well in this dish. My kids love it, they call it ‘vegetarian chicken’ and will snack on it straight from the packet!


I pop some water on to cook some noodles (fine egg noodles, rice noodles or buckwheat – whatever takes your fancy) and chuck the veg into a wok with a couple of glugs of rapeseed or veg oil. Cook on a moderate heat with the onion garlic and ginger mix from your blender.


Don’t over cook the veg, a bit of crunch is great and nutritionally much better.  I dish up the noodles into a large bowl, place on table with the wok beside as my kids love to help themselves. Place soy sauce, toasted sesame oil, rice wine vinegar, and a squeeze of lime juice on the table for seasoning.


Note – sometimes I dish up the kids veg into a serving bowl and then add some heat (red chilli) into the wok, for the adults and sprinkle with some fresh coriander before serving. And, to make it a bit special for the kids I might add some veggie spring rolls, and fortune cookies on the side. (Just pick some up in your local Chinese supermarket).. they haven’t quite mastered the chopsticks yet but they do add a bit of fun..!

Enjoy,

Jules x

Leave a Reply

