It’s all about the gym faces

IMG_6366

Last week was my first trip to the gym in at least 3 years.

I hadn’t been there since my leg decided to start doing its own thing about 3 years ago, so I had no idea how long it would be before I needed to sit down; however, I was hoping to at least break into a sweat before I needed a rest.

I decided that if it was an embarrassingly short time before that happened, I could pad things out with some yoga (for which I never seem to run out of energy). However, I would risk being that person who does yoga postures in front of the mirror, in the gym, wearing trainers.

At least I would have this lovely lunatic with me to keep me on the straight and narrow.

IMG_6340

In the morning I was disproportionately excited. I used to be extremely fit, so not being able to exercise properly for the last few years has been really frustrating. This week was the first time in ages I felt I might be able to get at least a chunk of that life back.

And as it turns out, I did alright. And in spite of not being able to lift my arms above shoulder height without pulling the face above (not that helpful for a yoga teacher), I’m already planning my next trip.

For now I’m off to whip up some post-workout energy balls. And then sit down for a bit. Because aside from the fact that I have Multiple Sclerosis, I am also 41 and a half…

Love, Lynne x

 

 

 

 

 

2 comments

  1. Sarah Polack · 27 Days Ago

    Ah lynne – your blogs make me giggle, feel awe and inspire me in equal measures. You are brilliant!

    Like

Leave a Reply

