I’m much better at Yoga than I am at selfies

Can someone please teach me how to look a bit less awful on social media?

Cross eyed, bag eyed, one eye bigger than the other, one tooth longer than the other. Don’t suppose it matters really.

The hair. I know. Storm Brian is to blame.

That’s not what bothers me. What bothers me is the weird not-quite-confident-enough-to-pout-or-do-the-side-angle-selfie-face (I’ve tried it. I look and feel ridiculous).

I look like a mum trying to do a selfie. Oh. I am a mum trying to do a selfie. My poor kids are going to be so embarassed in a few years time.

Anyway the point of this blog is NOT to analyse a block of pretty crap pictures of me looking a lot older than I had hoped I do.

It’s about me trying stuff that’s not that comfortable and easy for me.

Like the yoga class I went to this morning.

It felt amazing to be practising back where my yoga started. In an Iyengar yoga class that felt like a real challenge. And after ten years of MS progression, the challenges are different.

The teacher had no idea that I am a teacher. He noticed when I needed help and I accepted the help as if I knew nothing. Which at certain points, was true.

*You never stop learning yoga. Every class you teach, attend or practise at home uncovers something new. That’s one of the many things I love about it.

Some days I feel that it would be easier to stick to what I know I can manage. Fear of worsening my symptoms or bringing on fatigue often holds me back. But on a sunny, well-rested Sunday like today, I felt strong enough to ignore my MS. And I am so pleased I did.

I’m nearly forty-two. This morning when I was upside down feeling strong and focused, I felt twenty-two.

Bring. It. On.

Thanks lovely yoga centre. I will most certainly be back for more of the magic.

6AECD2D6-9CF7-4CBC-875B-8829C3B6EE2F

 

 

 

 

 

 

One comment

  1. Renard Moreau · October 22

    [ Laughs ] Your selfies are cute and don’t hesitate to blog about yoga.

    Like

Leave a Reply

