October Love

13F22A0B-DA2F-4D75-9C57-DF043B29F349.jpegI love October.

Cold enough for a cheeky (and possibly unnecessary) woolly hat, but warm enough to stand in playgrounds long enough for your little beasts to get a decent bit of exercise without you sacrificing a small part of your body to the God of Cold.

Most importantly it’s the month that (very almost seven years ago) I became an MS-y mummy.

Which was when I realised how important it is at this time of the year that I hike up my self-care routine. If I don’t,  I risk a huge dip in energy, an increase in headaches and muscle tension (my body tenses up at the mere hint of a temperature drop) and I am on the edge of feeling crappy for most of the winter. Add catching a cold into the mix and I am screwed until spring.

It’s time to really look after myself.

So I’m starting with some yummy recipes. (I’m obsessed with food, so it’s always my first port of call).

Warm, sweet, anti-inflammatory, unprocessed, green and homemade are the words that describe my most needed food at the moment.

So here’s one I made earlier:

C123E998-7BE6-42D3-B7AF-4D6DF05EB27D

Spinach, parsnip, leek, carrot, lentils and potato soup. Peel, chop, bung in pan, cover with water and add some stock. Black pepper is a lovely addition as it warms your system. Cook till soft then blend till smooth.

Cheap, lush, warm and homemade. Goes so well with a fat beetroot and hummus sandwich.

Stay warm Peeps 😍

 

 

Leave a Reply

